Signatera and other CtDNA tests

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
KMC21

Signatera and other CtDNA tests

Postby KMC21 » Mon Jun 28, 2021 12:05 pm

Hello:

In addition to being a rectal cancer survivor, I am a health writer who frequently focuses on cancer. I've been asked to write a brief article about the use of Signatera and other circulating tumor DNA tests to monitor CRC patients for potential residual disease. My understanding is that these are still in clinical trials, but some medical oncologists who specialize in GI cancers are using them.

If you would be willing to share any experiences you've had with these tests, and what institution is managing your care, I would welcome your insights! (This topic has come up before on the board but only in passing.)

Thanks!

Kris
ER visit 9/25/18 with dizziness and rectal bleeding
Colonoscopy 10/2/18
Diagnosed with rectal adenocarcinoma, 10/4/2018
Moderately to poorly differentiated, 8.1 cm from verge, T3 on imaging
Low anterior resection/total proctectomy w/ temp ileostomy 11/27/2018
Downstaged to T1, no lymph node involvement, no adjuvant therapy recommended
Reversal 1/29/2019
CT scan 4/2019 clear, CEA 1.0

polluxx

Re: Signatera and other CtDNA tests

Postby polluxx » Mon Jun 28, 2021 9:29 pm

I don’t really know a lot of details. I wanted to get my ctDNA tested and my oncologist said that insurance wouldn’t cover it, and it would cost several thousand dollars every 3 months to pay out of pocket. I go to John Muir in Northern California. I had made up my mind that she would need to present some justification to our insurance company to help me get it, or I would find an oncologist who would.