stress

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
jane
Facebook Username: sian leal

stress

Postby jane » Mon Nov 20, 2006 9:30 pm

Does anyone feel that stress played a part in developing cancer? I endured a terribly stressful time 2 years before diagnosis. It was so bad I had the most awful palpitations. Being an ex nurse, I knew it wasn't symptoms of heart problems but looking back I wonder if I should have done something to lower my stress. I always wonder if I may not have developed cancer. There is no family history of cancer of any type in my family and they have all lived into their 90's.
Rectal tumour Nov 2005 T3 N1 M0 age 42, Mum of 4.
Chemo/radiotherapy, 5FU via pump
Surgery (straight anastamosis), TME Feb 2006
Finished 5FU, Leucovorin July 2006
NED since!
I want to die of old age!

Pollyanna

Stress

Postby Pollyanna » Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:21 am

Yes, I've wondered about this myself. I grew up in a pretty volatile household, and spend most of my childhood walking on eggshells. So, not to play the blame game, but I started to wonder about all the roiling inside and if it had anything to do with my cancer.

I've always lived in fear of everything, but when I got my diagnosis, it strangely melted away. I guess the realization of one's mortality makes taking risks not so scary. And, if you can face cancer head-on, what could possibly come your way that's worse?

I've started to really examine how I get stressed, and how I tend to take on everyone's stress, and I've started to really let that go. And it feels pretty darn good. Living in a house with 2 teenagers, there's plenty of drama on a daily basis, but I've given them back ownership of their stress - it's really not my issue to deal with.

So is there a connection? I believe so. If you have all this emotional churning inside you, and it doesn't come out, it's got to manifest itself somehow, somewhere inside.

bossan

Postby bossan » Tue Nov 21, 2006 3:27 am