Rectal Cancer

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
Aemerson

Rectal Cancer

Postby Aemerson » Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:46 pm

My dad is 70 years old. He began having issues with diarrhea, blood, and gas a few weeks ago. He got a colonoscopy on Monday 04/16/18 and this was the results.
FINDINGS:
EXCAVATED LESIONS Multiple non-bleeding diverticula were seen in the descending colon and sigmoid colon. Diverticulosis appeared to be of moderate
severity.
PROTRUDING LESIONS An ulcerated bleeding 10 cm mass of malignant appearance was found in the anus and rectum. The mass caused a partial obstruction. The scope traversed the lesion. Large ulcered apple core lesion from dentate line to 10 cms. With lumen decreased to 1 cm. Multiple cold forceps were performed for histology.

My question is "WHAT DOES ANY OF THIS MEAN?"
Thanks
Annie E

aja1121

Re: Rectal Cancer

Postby aja1121 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:39 am

I'm not an expert, but my husband has been fighting rectal cancer for almost 4 years. Here's my take; hope others will correct me if I'm wrong.

"Multiple non-bleeding diverticula were seen in the descending colon and sigmoid colon. Diverticulosis appeared to be of moderate severity."
Diverticulosis means little bulges or pouches in the colon. I think they are pretty common, especially in older folks. Probably unrelated to the mass, I would guess it's more a case of the doctor making note of what s/he saw. If the pouches get infected, that's called diverticulitis, which can require antibiotics and/or surgery, but the report doesn't note evidence of that.

"An ulcerated bleeding 10 cm mass of malignant appearance was found in the anus and rectum. The mass caused a partial obstruction. The scope traversed the lesion. Large ulcered apple core lesion from dentate line to 10 cms. With lumen decreased to 1 cm. Multiple cold forceps were performed for histology. "