Rectal Discharge

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
josier0811

Rectal Discharge

Postby josier0811 » Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:23 pm

I am new to this all. I do not have colon cancer (although very strong family history). I ended up with an emergency colostomy almost 2 weeks ago due to an injury from gynecological surgery. They tell me it is only temporary.
I know it is normal to have some mucus (clear) discharge from the rectum. However, twice so far I have had a reddish/brown discharge. The first time it happened I called my doctor and his answer was well it could be normal or it could indicate a pelvic infection. He asked how I was feeling and I said fine. He advised if I feel ill or have pain to go to the ER for a CAT scan.
Anyone experience this?? I am feeling okay, eating okay, off and on a very low grade temp but nothing over 100.
Please any thoughts are appreciated. I am trying so hard to adjust to this and mentally cannot deal with a setback.

Caat55

Re: Rectal Discharge

Postby Caat55 » Thu Mar 22, 2018 5:55 pm

hi Josier,
Completely understand your worry, concern about setbacks. I did have a couple of small bowel movements after surgery, the first few days but that is it. Any discharge they said would be more mucus like from that point forward.

Susan
Do at 55 y.o. Female
Dx 9/26/17 RC Stage 3
Completed 33 rad. tx, xeolda 12/8/17
MRI and PET 1/18 sign. regression
Surgery 1/31/18 Ileostomy, clean margins, no lymph node involved
Port 3/1/2018
Oxaliplatin and Xeloda start 3/22/18
Last Oxaliplatin 7/5/18, 5 rounds
CT NED 9/2018
PET NED 12/18
Clear Colonoscopy 2/19, 5/20

josier0811

Postby josier0811 » Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:30 pm

I know the clear mucus is normal but am still worrying about the reddish/brown. I guess if the doctor is not too concerned I should not be but I cannot help but worry.

NHMike

Postby NHMike » Thu Mar 22, 2018 9:45 pm