Been bleeding from colon for 10 years..

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
James360

Been bleeding from colon for 10 years..

Postby James360 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:50 pm

Hi I've been bleeding off and on from my colon for 10 years. I'm 30 and it started when I began to diet and try to lose weight. I was taking many kinds of laxatives at the time too. Through my 20s I struggled with weight and used laxatives and bled much from my colon. It wasn't until recent that I noticed barely no blood in stool but so much blood on toilet paper. So I'm definitely concerned. Do you think this is a sign of colon cancer? I have an appointment next Friday and I'm hoping they set me up with a colonoscopy to see what's going on but should I be alarmed? :oops:

Stewsbetty

Re: Been bleeding from colon for 10 years..

Postby Stewsbetty » Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:35 am

I guess it can't really be normal to be bleeding but there may be other reasons for it. It certainly won't hurt to do a scope and then you will know for certain. It is good to address your concerns proactively but it won't help to become consumed with worry. So schedule the appointment and maybe try to stop unnecessary use of laxatives.

Best of luck, beth
42yo At diagnosis. Female in BC, Canada
Dx: CC ascending
Right Hemi colectomy 06/16 clear margins
Adenocarcinoma 6cm High Grade
pT3 pN2a Stage 3
10 out of 16 lymph involved
MSI-h, Kras mut, Braf wild
Finished chemo Feb. 2017
PET scan showing active area April 2017
July 2017 CT showing LN mass and spread to other LN
Stage 4
Aug 2017 failed Fofiri
Sept 2017 keytruda scans every 3 months showing shrinkage and stability
November 2018 CT shows only 1 small tumour left
September 2019 clear CT finally NED!!!

DarknessEmbraced
Facebook Username: Riann Fletcher

Postby DarknessEmbraced » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:38 am

I'm sorry you're going through this and am glad you're getting a colonoscopy. Hopefully it won't be long to wait.*hugs*