5-FU cumulative side effects?

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
Kobe

5-FU cumulative side effects?

Postby Kobe » Mon May 29, 2017 7:16 am

Hi,

I'm new to this - just finished my 3rd treatment with 5-FU and Leucovorin. The first treatment was fine and my oncologist said how you react to the 1st one is usually how you react from that point on. I had mild nausea and fatigue but that was basically it. Second treatment about the same. Third wasn't as good - some tingling in my hands and feet, more fatigue, nausea a little worse, some taste changes, and an over feeling of being lightheaded - that feeling has lasted for days. I really hate the pump - it pulls on my port and I really don't like the sound or the feeling when I know the chemo is going in. After the 48 hours I deaccess it myself - that way I don't have to make a second trip to the clinic.

My counts have dropped - after treatment 1 my ANC was 1200 and treatment 2 it was 1000 - the minimum to get chemo. I was disappointed that it's dropping so fast.

I'm curious how others have done. Did your experience from treatment to treatment level out or was it always something different. Was the 3rd treatment the worse - I've had people tell me it is. I'm taking a ton of supplements, seeing a naturopathic oncologist and doing my best to walk every day. I really just want to get through this as quickly as possible.

Thanks for your help

stpio

Re: 5-FU cumulative side effects?

Postby stpio » Mon May 29, 2017 7:40 am

Dear Kobe,