PET/CT scan accuracy

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
countrybtrfly
Facebook Username: countrybtrfly

PET/CT scan accuracy

Postby countrybtrfly » Sat Sep 03, 2016 9:51 pm

I had a PET/CT scan recently due to swollen neck lymph nodes. The results of the whole body scan stated, "There is wall thickening of the cecum with increased hypermetabolic activity, 4.8, differential diagnosis includes colitis, malignancy vs underdistention of the colon with physiologic colonic uptake". I have cancer history in my family. I keep getting told to not worry until the colonoscopy next Tuesday? But very worried! Any similar stories? I am new at this, and not quite sure of all the lingo.

mypinkheaven
Facebook Username: Sally Cunningham

Re: PET/CT scan accuracy

Postby mypinkheaven » Sun Sep 04, 2016 11:52 am

countrybtrfly wrote:I had a PET/CT scan recently due to swollen neck lymph nodes. The results of the whole body scan stated, "There is wall thickening of the cecum with increased hypermetabolic activity, 4.8, differential diagnosis includes colitis, malignancy vs underdistention of the colon with physiologic colonic uptake". I have cancer history in my family. I keep getting told to not worry until the colonoscopy next Tuesday? But very worried! Any similar stories? I am new at this, and not quite sure of all the lingo.

Colitis inflammation can "light up" on a PET scan. And: "One recognized pitfall in the interpretation of small and large bowel disease is underdistention, which can simulate the appearance of bowel wall thickening."

So, Tuesday is right around the corner - try not to worry too much 8) I hope the scope goes well and all the worry was for nothing!!
MSS, KRAS Wild NRAS Mutated
9/2012 CRC IIB Lft Colectomy 0 lymph nodes 0 Chemo
10/2013 CT clear
11/15 CEA 2.7 to 4.6
11/15 Spread to uterus. Hysterectomy
2/16 Pelvic radiation 25, brachytherapy 3
4/16 - 6/16 Xeloda
6/16 CT Several lung nodules 5 mm