New here: Wife with Stage 4 colon cancer

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
BernieRN66
Facebook Username: Bernie Rieping

New here: Wife with Stage 4 colon cancer

Postby BernieRN66 » Sun Apr 26, 2015 4:39 pm

I am new here; my wife 48 yrs young has stage IV colon cancer, diagnosed on March 19th. She had the primary tumor removed in March and recently (last week) had her first chemo treatment (FOLFOX with Avastin). She has mets to her liver and left lower lung. The liver tumors are inoperable.
I am a registered nurse but I will be the first to admit I have much to learn about this, I don't work with cancer patients in my job. After reading the blogs for a few weeks I thought I'd participate and say hello.
Ana and I have 5 sons at home, aged 17 to 10 years old, and and 2 grown kids living on their own, one with our 2 grandchildren. Ana has a lot to live for!
I am sometimes overwhelmed by all the changes that this illness has caused, but we survive. Happy to join your online community.

Ceebo

Re: New here: Wife with Stage 4 colon cancer

Postby Ceebo » Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:28 pm

So sorry you have to come to this site, but so glad you are here. I too am an RN, with over 35 years of experience, but I have had to learn a lot since my husband was diagnosed in 2014. There is a lot of information to process but your medical background will help a lot. Be sure to keep good notes from dr's visits, get copies of all reports, and don't be afraid to ask questions. It also is not unusual to get a 2nd opinion.

You will find that this forum is an excellent resource!
DH 64 Stage 4 on 4/14 ; cecal tumor; 5+ nodes ; mets to liver; colon resection
5/14 FOLFOX
9/14 - Liver surgery aborted; peri mets
10/14 CT mult.1-2 mm lung mets; FOLFIRI & Avastin
1/15 CT -liver & lung mets shrinking
3/15 PET - ? New met. site colon; CEA rising
7/15 Chemo has failed; looking for clinical trial
9/29/15 started TAS-102 trial
KRAS mutant; MSS

Sleen