New to Cancer

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
Fire Gurl

New to Cancer

Postby Fire Gurl » Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:39 am

Just a little bit about my situation.

I have been on a health kick for the past year. My husband and I have been working out on average about 5 days a week since June of 2014. This workout class saved my life! Thank you Fuel Fitness! Anyway, I felt like I was at the definitely in the best shape of my life. I had lost 18lbs, learned to eat clean, mostly Paleo and made some amazing friends along the way. Then it happened......Christmas Eve 2014, wasn't feeling so great. I was cramping on my right side for about a day and a half with it progressively getting worse. Long story short I had an appendicitis and interspersion in my colon. Emergency surgery removed 1 foot of my colon and my appendix. Couple of days later the pathology report comes back and it showed colon cancer, stage 1C. 22 limp nodes were tested which came back negative (the good news in the midst of chaos). I was alone in my hospital room when the doctor gave me the news. It felt like a ton of bricks just landed on my chest. What the heck was happening to me??? The next few days were tough, having to tell my family, friends, and work. Made it through all those tearful conversations, now to get on with recovery.

How do you put the pieces of your life back together? And figure out how to heal, emotionally, physically and mentally? How do you figure out how to prevent this from happening in the future?

My honey and I researched the best books to read after my diagnosis. Anti-cancer by David Servan-Schreiber, MD, PhD and Radical Remission by Kelly A. Turner PhD. were both excellent resources for me. I am learning about what to eat, maintaining my exercise, and learning to manage my thoughts. I am really interested in incorporating essential oils into my recovery and balancing my pH.