New to posting and freaked out, need advice!

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
Jenjb

New to posting and freaked out, need advice!

Postby Jenjb » Thu Jun 26, 2014 7:52 am

Hello! I have been visiting this site for advice since I was diagnosed in January, 2014 with Rectal Cancer. I need some support and advice for others. My background is I am a 45 yo female, with a 10'year old daughter, who went to GI doc with bloody stools early January, no other symptoms. I had a colonoscopy and he biopsied and found I did have cancer in my low rectum. It was staged at IIb at the time. Did the usual 28 daily radiation treatments with a 24x7 5FU pump. I also am enrolled in a clinical study for stage 2 and 3 patients to get Zaltrap to see if effects prognosis. I had bad side effects with the 5FU and Zaltrap, super high blood pressure, abdominal infection, and mouth sires so they took me off of the 5FU about 2 weeks earlier than anticipated. Zaltrap was completed as per study.

My surgeon, who I love performed my lower anterior with j pouch on May 14th, 9 lymph nodes removed and 2 tested positive, so I was moved to stage IIIb, which really was a mental blow to me....my tumor was really close to the sphincter so it was a game day decision if I would have a temp or perm ileostomy.....and I got the temp. When the path came back it said the lower donut (sure I am getting terms wrong) had trace cancer...but my surgeon felt comfortable he got it all.

Yesterday, I had my reversal surgery and it went great...so far recovery has been easy. But now I am totally freaked out, surgeon said he felt a small bump near my staple and is having it biopsied to make sure it is not cancer. It has only been 6 weeks since my surgery.....could cancer be back that quickly?.. Is it scar tissue? I am working myself into a frenzy...has anyone else had this? And if it is cancer what does that mean?? Any help or advice is greatly appreciated!

Jenjbracey