sudden onset of pneumonia

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
Cabisbee
Facebook Username: Chantelle Bisbee

sudden onset of pneumonia

Postby Cabisbee » Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:55 pm

We have had a pretty crazy weekend. My husband was finally able to get round 9 of Folfox after several delays. It went pretty much as usual, discontinued the pump on Saturday after chemo was done and saline bolus was finished. He puked once Sunday morning, swears he didn't aspirate, and then noticed his breathing sounded weird. I'm a nurse, so I grabbed my stethoscope and his lungs sounded awful with crackles. I took him to the ER on Sunday, not sure if he was developing pulmonary edema or infection. They decided his xray showed pneumonia in his right lung. He stayed in the hospital overnight getting 2 antibiotics and fluids and his lungs sounded much better today so they sent him home on oral antibiotics. He was not neutropenic, so I don't know why he didn't have much of an immune response. His WBC was only 7 and he never ran any fever. He really had not even had a cough. He said he had a little clear drainage the 2 days before that if he felt like he needed to clear his throat he was able to cough a little out, but no real cough until the day the crackles developed. He said it sounded like coke fizz to him. They were concerned about his blood pressure, it was a little low but he had not really drank anything the day before and that one liter of saline just didn't go far enough. It just all happened so fast it was weird. To top things off, our oncologist partner who was on call said for them to admit him under our PCP since it was pneumonia and he was out of town. He rarely ever takes off, but it's spring break here. We ended up under the hospitalist group and we did NOT like the doctor. Glad he is back home now, but praying for no more of that. We've managed to make it since August with him on chemo without him catching any funk from any o