Stage II and no chemo?

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
silversprmom

Stage II and no chemo?

Postby silversprmom » Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:11 pm

This is my first time posting, though I have often come just to read other posts. I was diagnosed in October 2012 at the age of 37 with Stage II CC (T3N0M0). After the resection, my oncologist recommended against chemo b/c I had only "low risk" pathology factors. He said that the increased benefit of chemo would be only 2%-3% in my case and that I could cut my risk of recurrence/metastasis through regular exercise and a daily mini-aspirin. That he recommended against chemo came as a surprise to me, as I had spent considerable time on the blogs and actually wanted the poison. I'd love to hear from others who chose not to do chemo for Stage II - do you regret it? I'd also love to hear from those who did chemo. Thank you!
Mom of 4, age 37, colon cancer -- 10/17/2012
Colon resection -- 10/26/2012
T3N0M0, 37 nodes neg -- 11/1/2012
Onco recommends NO CHEMO (Rx= exercise, 80 mg aspirin) -- 12/2012
CT scan -- 1/2013, NED
CT scan -- 7/1/2013, NED
CEA -- 1/7/2014 -- 0.7

sofarsogood

Re: Stage II and no chemo?

Postby sofarsogood » Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:13 pm

I have the same situation. Dx'd in Sept. of '10 stage II with 49 nodes negative. My onc didn't recommend chemo either and we didn't really ask if she would have given it to me if we had decided to go that way. She has been keeping a pretty close eye on everything with the scans etc. and so far it's worked out good. It's a tough choice but we decided to put all our faith in the Dr.'s going in and have stuck with that decision. If it's any help, my Onc sent everything to MAYO and they agreed with everything we are doing.
Dx Sept. '10, age 49
Surgery Sept."10
Stage IIA
NED so far

orcasres

Postby orcasres » Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:26 pm