PET scan result

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
sulthana

PET scan result

Postby sulthana » Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:35 am

My mom's PET scan came today.It states ,"Hypermetabolic uptake noted at anastomatic site with no significant CT abnormality,SUV max of 5.5".The rest of the body including liver ,lungs are normal.
Is this a sign for local recurrence?
I am taking my mom to doctor this week.I am really worried about this.
How come PET shows activity while CT is normal?Could this be a false positive?The report says may be an early sign of recurrence.
DD of Mother-52 years Dx'd with cc,
t3N2aM0 cc, stage IIIB,
4/12 LN's,
Dx'd-nov/11,
surgery-nov/11,
folfox 6 regime completed
colonscopy normal july/12
CT normal july/12

SoConfused

Re: PET scan result

Postby SoConfused » Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:01 am

sulthana wrote: with no significant CT abnormality,SUV max of 5.5".

I am not a doctor ... but this certainly does not sound like a recurrence if there is no corresponding abnormality on the CT. How long ago was your mother's surgery? perhaps what's lighting up is a result of surgical changes.
Stage IV CC

sulthana

Postby sulthana » Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:47 am

The surgery happened in nov 2011.Just thinking, whether it could be inflammation or some other reason.
DD of Mother-52 years Dx'd with cc,
t3N2aM0 cc, stage IIIB,
4/12 LN's,
Dx'd-nov/11,
surgery-nov/11,
folfox 6 regime completed
colonscopy normal july/12
CT normal july/12

mtlimpactfan

Postby mtlimpactfan » Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:53 am

Hi Sulthana,
my DW is more or less in the same situation where her latest PET scan showed a tiny area with a 4.7 SUV ratio. The next step is the MRI that will give extra clues on any thickening of tissus in the concerned area and a biopsy will most probably sort out the whole situation. It could be some sort of inflammation if surgery was recent or an infection, so I think that you should investigate a bit more. Keep us posted!