Any other Stage IVs in Ontario, Canada?

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
Wendy

Any other Stage IVs in Ontario, Canada?

Postby Wendy » Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:52 pm

Hi, I am new to the Colon Club. I am a 40 year old female diagnosed (Jan 2006) with Stage IV with mets to my liver. I am looking for any others with the same diagnosis in Ontario - to share information with. For example Avastin is not covered under our provincial drug plan, or most private drug plans - what options are there to get the drug? I have been spending alot of time researching procedures and drugs and since I am in Canada, where treatment and coverage seems to be more conservative if not delayed, I find that I have to be the one that suggests things to my Oncologist.

Let me know if any of you are out there!

Wendy

Postby Guest » Thu Mar 23, 2006 8:27 am

Hi Wendy: I'm from Ontario - stage III 2xlymph nodes. I was offered oxiliplatin(sp?) which is not aproved for use in Canada. I had to sign a document giving my financial situation and it was paid for--- didn't cost me anything. I don't know if there is a way to get Avastin but it is worth asking for it.

I know what you mean about health care in Canada. The whole system is so "government/money" run that I feel that we do not get the best tratment unless we start yelling and causing a big fuss...we have to "fight" for everything :evil:

e.g. I want a PET scan when I finish my treatment -- There is a machine in Quebec but I'll have to pay........why?????

Adam

Postby Adam » Sun Mar 26, 2006 7:29 pm

Hi Wendy,