CEA levels- help please!!!

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
sirball

CEA levels- help please!!!

Postby sirball » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:13 am

I am new to this and am a little unsure how it works, but I really hope people respond to my question. Here is my story... I was diagnosed with Stage II colon cancer when I was 30 years old. I had 25 cm of the colon removed and 22 nodes removed. All margins and nodes were clean. I went through 6 months of FOLFOX. I stopped chemo last June. My CEAs have begun to rise and my doctors, as well as myself, are extremely concerned. They were 0.8 in December, 3.6 in March, 5 in June, and 9.9 in July. Last week I had a PET/CT, MRI, X-Rays, Colonoscopy, CBC, and CA-125 checked. They were all normal. My doctors are now talking about doing a laproscopy in the abdomen and pelvis. Has anyone else experienced rising CEAs with negative test results? My doctors are concerned, but stumped. I will be going to a major research hospital in a couple of weeks to get a second opinion. Please help!!! I am 20 months out from surgery. Any advice?

missjv

Postby missjv » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:25 am

hi,
well cea is a strange thing cause i was diagnosed stage 4 colon cancer last year with a cea of 2 and it never went above 3 even during chemo so i don't know how reliable the test really is. unless you have microscopic disease that is too small to be detected in scans thats the only reason i would think it would start to elevate. good luck i hope it is nothing.

missjv

Postby Guest » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:36 am

Thanks for your response. I have heard that CEAs are unreliable. How strange that yours never showed any elevation. I am so concerned and don't want to have to face chemo, surgery, being sick again.

GlitterGirl

Postby GlitterGirl » Mon Jul 23, 2007 6:16 pm

Hi there