Folfox- Ability to travel, taste foods, stand in cold??

Please feel free to read, share your thoughts, your stories and connect with others!
shel28

Folfox- Ability to travel, taste foods, stand in cold??

Postby shel28 » Tue Feb 13, 2007 3:02 am

This is in response to the working topic and the folfox side effects. I am going to start Folfox after surgery (April). I'll be on it for 6 months. I am trying to decide if I can work during this time. Right now I am on disability and medical leave since I am getting my radiation and first round of chemo and surgery in LA. I work in the food industry in Denver and my job involves traveling about twice a month (by plane), standing in production plants that are sometimes at refrigeration temperature or freezing temperature, tasting food, and some desk work. Was anyone able to travel for work while on Folfox? Is it ok to be on a plane- just asking becuase a lot of times I get a cold or run down after being on the plane. One oncologist I met said people travel for work while on this but did anyone do that? I know you say your hands and feet get sensitive to the cold but how long are you able to tolerate it for? Is it ok to briefly step into a cold environment? Can you be in it for 30 min. or an hour? Is it tolerable? Did anyone lose their sense of taste? Some mentioned not being able to drink cold liquids but can you taste cold food or frozen food?
Michelle. Stage III rectal cancer. Diagnosed Dec. 27, 2006. 28 years old. Los Angeles, CA and Denver, CO.

Holly

Wow

Postby Holly » Tue Feb 13, 2007 3:53 am

Michelle,

I completed four months of Folfox4. I really have no point of reference about the tasting of food. Due to my inability to tolerate by mouth, I was on TPN for many months. I wish I could better assist you. I have heard though that some experience a metallic like taste. I am hopeful that others will be able to better answer this question for you.